The Sports Minister Launches A Committee To Investigate Abuja Stadium Vandalism

Share, like and Comment

The Federal Government established an investigating committee on Thursday to investigate the circumstances behind the vandalism of the Moshood Abiola Stadium and recommend measures to prevent it from happening again.

While the failure of Nigeria to qualify for the Qatar 2022 World Cup is regrettable, it has left millions of football-loving Nigerians unhappy and angry, prompting them to demand changes, the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, stated that condoning acts of vandalism and destruction of public infrastructure such as the Moshood Abiola Stadium, which was built with tax payers’ money, is not enough.

“The Federal Government will not stand by and watch while individuals of all ages willfully damage and destroy Federal Government facilities, particularly public property like the Moshood Abiola National Stadium.” As a result, I’d want to formally establish this committee to investigate acts of vandalism and destruction at the Stadium this afternoon. This committee will have two weeks to finish their task and submit their report.

“It is an investigative committee and they will be given necessary access to the stadium, they will be provided with the CCTV footage, they will have access to every relevant person connected with the football match and also the Ministry, Nigeria Football Federation(NFF)and other relevant agencies,” the Minister added.

The terms of reference of the Committee include unravelling the remote and immediate causes of the incident; determining the extent of the destruction; investigating the security arrangement and the role of security generally; identifying the culprits; identifying victims where we have them; making recommendations on how to prevent future occurrence, not just for the Moshood Abiola Stadium but all stadia across the country in terms of crowd control after the games, amongst others.

In his response, the Chairman of the Committee, DIG Mohammed(Retd)thanked the Minister for finding members of the committee worthy of the national assignment, promising they will discharge their responsibilities without fear or favour, and assist the nation to prevent a recurrence of the unfortunate incident.

Other members of the investigative committee are Dr Henry Nzekwu(vice-chairman), Commodore Omatseye Nesiama(Retd), Alhaji Abba Yola, Dr Simon Ebhojiaye, Mrs Tayo Oreweme, Mr Mitchell Obi, a representative of the Director-General of the Department of State Security(DSS) and Mr Olumide Bamiduro, who will be the secretary.

The committee has two weeks to turn in their report.

Share, like and Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

MTN Nigeria Recognised As The Most Tax-Compliant Organization In Nigeria For The Year 2021 By (FIRS).

Fri Apr 1 , 2022
Share, like and Comment MTN Nigeria Communications Plc (MTN Nigeria) received two honours at the Federal Inland Revenue Service’s National Tax Dialogue Event, which took place recently (FIRS). On Tuesday, March 29, 2022, the second edition of this stakeholder engagement forum was hosted at the Banquet Hall of the State […]

You May Like


GLO Data Pool Party